Back to top

Aeronautics and Astronautics

Apollo Program PrizeGiven to an AeroAstro student who conducts the best undergraduate research project on the topic of humans in space

  • Johannes J. Norheim '16,
    Voss, Norway
  • Aaron L. Ashley '16,
    Gretna, NE; and Guillermo Bautista '17, Ypsilanti, MI

Andrew J. Morsa PrizeGiven for demonstration of ingenuity and initiative in the application of computers to the field of aeronautics and astronautics

  • Derek C. Barnes '16,
    Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
  • Joseph M. Kusters '16,
    Coronado, CA

Yvnge Raustein AwardGiven to a Unified Engineering student who best exemplifies the spirit of Yngve Raustein and to recognize significant achievement in Unified Engineering

  • Maya R. Nasr '18,
    Kafarfakoud, Lebanon

Admiral Luis De Florez PrizeAwarded for "original thinking or ingenuity"

  • Andrew H. Liotta '16,
    Menlo Park, CA; and Kelly C. O'Brien '16, Mertztown, PA

James Means AwardGiven for Excellence in Flight Vehicle Engineering

  • Patrick A. Lowe '16,
    Palos Verdes Estates, CA

James Means AwardGiven for Excellence in Space Systems Engineering

  • Eduardo Maristany Amescua '16,
    Pflugerville, TX
  • Timothy Curtis Shoyer '16,
    Hingham, MA

Thomas B. Sheridan AwardGiven to an Aeronautics and Astronautics or Mechanical Engineering undergraduate student(s) whose research or design project best exemplifies creativity or improvement in human-machine integration or cooperation

  • Evie S. Kyritsis '16,
    Mountain Lakes, NJ; and Margaret J. Reagan '16, Braintree, MA

Leaders for Manufacturing PrizeGiven to a team that uses their project to directly deal with issues related to the interaction between manufacturing and engineering through demonstration of modern manufacturing

  • Julia G. Crowley Farenga '16,
    Evanston, IL
  • Raichelle J. Aniceto '16,
    Salt Lake City, UT; and Rachel I. Weinberg '16, Manassas, VA

Rene H. Miller Prize in Systems EngineeringGiven to a student who has done the best piece of work in systems engineering in the AeroAstro department

  • Anne D. Marinan G,
    Somerville, MA

Henry Webb Salisbury AwardGiven in memory of Henry Salisbury to a graduating senior who has achieved superior academic performance in the Course XVI Undergraduate Program

  • Andrew H. Liotta '16,
    Menlo Park, CA
  • Michael J. Burton '16,
    North Salt Lake, UT
  • Martin A. York '16,
    Raleigh, NC

AeroAstro Graduate Teaching Assistantship AwardGiven to a graduate student who has demonstrated conspicuous dedication and skill in helping fulfill an undergraduate or graduate subject's educational objectives

  • Mohammad Shafaet Islam G,
    Woodside, NY
  • Roedolph A. Opperman G,
    Pretoria, S. Africa

AIAA Undergraduate Advising AwardGiven by the AIAA Student Chapter to a faculty or staff who has demonstrated excellence in serving as an academic or 16.621/16.622 advisor and has made a real positive impact on a student's time in the AeroAstro Department

  • Wesley L. Harris,
    Charles Stark Draper Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics

AIAA Undergraduate Teaching AwardGiven by the AIAA Student Chapter to a faculty or staff member who has exemplified the role of a "great teacher"

  • Raul Radovitzky,
    Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics

AIAA Teaching Assistantship AwardGiven by the AIAA Student Chapter to a teaching assistant in a Course 16 subject for outstanding commitment to pedagogy, inspiration, and superior contributions

  • Benjamin L. Couchman G,
    London, UK

SuperUROP Outstanding Research Project Award

  • Course 16 Recipient: Michael J. Burton '16,
    North Salt Lake City, UT

Wings AwardTo recognize an individual support staff member in AeroAstro for excellence

  • Elizabeth Zotos,
    Administrative Assistant, Man Vehicle Lab

Vickie Kerrebrock AwardTo recognize students, staff, faculty, or others, either individually or as members of a group, who have made significant contributions to building a sense of community in the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics

  • Anne Maynard, br>
    Personnel Administrator

Spirit of XVI AwardTo one individual or team of staff members in Aeronautics and Astronautics whose work, commitment, and enthusiasm contribute significantly to the achievement of the mission of the department

  • Jacques Matthieu, br>
    Systems Administrator
  • Jei Lee Freeman, br>
    Financial Assistant

The Simon AwardAwarded by the department head for "exceptional contribution to the department"

  • David Robertson
  • James Legendre
  • Todd Billings