Back to top

Office of Undergraduate Advising & Academic Programming

Creative Advising Activity AwardFreshman advisors meet regularly with their advisees to give advice and support. They provide opportunities for students to get together socially with their advising group. The Creative Advising Activity Award recognizes an advisor who has shown exceptional hospitality and creativity by organizing unique activities and building a community for students.

  • Professor Ronald Ballinger,
    Nuclear Science and Engineering, Material Science and Engineering

Rookie Advisor AwardThis award is given to an advisor who began advising freshmen for the first time starting in fall 2013. The Rookie Advisor Award recognizes a novice who advised like a pro. This enthusiastic team player participated in advisor development meetings, but showed wisdom and finesse in overcoming hurdles.

  • Professor T.L. Taylor,
    Comparative Media Studies and Writing

Veteran Advisor AwardMany advisors have been committed to advising freshmen year after year, consistently giving of their time to help students make a successful first year transition. The Veteran Advisor Award honors an advisor who has been active for at least 5 years, sustaining her or his passion for advising.

  • Professor Preetinder Virk,
    Department of Chemical Engineering

Alan J. Lazarus Award for Excellence in Freshman AdvisingThis award is presented to a distinguished advisor who has raised the bar for freshman advising. This advisor believes that excellence goes beyond a fulfillment of responsibilities and expectations. The Excellence in Advising Award embodies dedication and commitment to the academic and personal success of freshmen. Presented to a faculty member who has served as an excellent advisor and mentor to freshmen and who has had a significant impact on their personal lives and academic success.

  • Professor Hazel Sive,
    Biology Department

Excellence in Mentoring AwardThis award honors an advisor who is deeply invested in mentorship. This advisor understands that mentoring goes beyond giving academic advice. S/he is a role model for freshmen and is committed to the holistic growth and development of freshmen.

  • Michael Bove Jr.,
    Principal Research Scientist and Director of the MAS Learning Community

Student Champion AwardThis award recognizes an advisor who has gone beyond the call of duty to be present in aspects of advisees' lives beyond academics, participating in student events and activities. This award may also be given to an advisor who supported an advisee in a complex situation with great insight and compassion.

  • Sharmila Chatterjee,
    Senior Lecturer in Sloan School of Management and Academic Head of Enterprise Management

Innovative Seminar AwardFreshman seminars are a unique opportunity for students to learn from an advisor in a small, interactive group setting. Each seminar is inspiring and thought-provoking. However, this awardee showed exceptional creativity in leading a seminar that engaged freshmen to the fullest extent.

  • Professor Peter Shor,
    Morss Professor of Applied Mathematics

Outstanding UROP Mentor AwardsSelected from UROP students' nominations of research mentors who have demonstrated exceptional guidance and teaching in a research setting

  • Professor Regina Bateson,
    Department of Political Science
  • Sampriti Bhattacharyya G,
    Calcutta/Kolkata, India

Outstanding Associate AdvisorPresented annually to an upperclass student who has demonstrated exceptional dedication to mentoring freshmen in an advising group and residential community

  • Rebecca Gallivan '17,
    Seattle, WA

Randolph G. Wei UROP AwardPresented each spring to the undergraduate who has made the most outstanding contribution in undergraduate research at the interface of the life sciences and engineering

  • Lauren Paul '18,
    Zanesville, OH

Peter J. Eloranta Summer Undergraduate Research FellowshipsAwarded to MIT undergraduates for interesting and novel research of student-initiated ideas developed outside the normal curriculum; each fellowship provides $7,000 for the students to conduct their summer research in any field

  • Michelle Suh '16,
    Querying my Korean Heritage
  • Nicole Zatorski '18,
    Improving Red Blood Cell Storage Practices for Use in Emergency Medicine
  • Alexandra Churikova '16,
    Chilean Physicists Tournament 2016

Distinguished Achievement in Academics

  • Mary Jane Porzenheim '19,
    Chicago, IL

Distinguished Achievement in Athletics

  • Peter Calvaresi '19,
    Malvern, PA
  • Kara Holinski '19,
    Livonia, MI

Distinguished Achievement in Diversity and Culture

  • Claire Nord '19,
    Troy, MI

Distinguished Achievement in Leadership

  • Kerrie Greene '19,
    Alpharetta, GA

Distinguished Achievement in Research

  • Stephanie Chin '19,
    Worcester, MA